Page MenuHomePhabricator

tyler-smith (Tyler Smith)
User

Projects

User does not belong to any projects.

User Details

User Since
Dec 26 2018, 22:47 (183 w, 1 d)

Recent Activity

May 1 2022

tyler-smith updated the diff for D11373: [avalanche] Send invs for known transactions..

Remove code that is no longer necessary given the removal of IsWorthPolling(), and which is likely the cause of the test failures.

May 1 2022, 04:38
tyler-smith updated the diff for D11371: [avalanche] Create transaction vote records..

Fix accidental change-stack cross-contamination.

May 1 2022, 04:19
tyler-smith updated the diff for D11384: [avalanche] Make block update logging more precise..

Remove incorrect, racy test assertion.

May 1 2022, 04:08

Apr 27 2022

tyler-smith added inline comments to D11371: [avalanche] Create transaction vote records..
Apr 27 2022, 10:59
tyler-smith planned changes to D11371: [avalanche] Create transaction vote records..
Apr 27 2022, 10:58
tyler-smith accepted D11389: [avalanche] Send getavalancheproofs request upon receipt of a new valid proof.

Looks good. Left a comment to consider but not something that should hold up this changeset.

Apr 27 2022, 10:52
tyler-smith added inline comments to D11388: [avalanche] Answer getavaproofs message with short proof ids.
Apr 27 2022, 10:52
tyler-smith updated the test plan for D11384: [avalanche] Make block update logging more precise..
Apr 27 2022, 10:52
tyler-smith updated the diff for D11384: [avalanche] Make block update logging more precise..

Move logging into lambda, make unparkBlock lambda, and add to tests.

Apr 27 2022, 10:50
tyler-smith updated the diff for D11371: [avalanche] Create transaction vote records..

Remove isAccepted contructor property and IsWorthPolling.

Apr 27 2022, 10:49

Apr 25 2022

tyler-smith updated subscribers of D11384: [avalanche] Make block update logging more precise..

@Fabien Let me know if there's something more you'd like to see regarding testing/test-plan for this change.

Apr 25 2022, 08:15
tyler-smith requested review of D11384: [avalanche] Make block update logging more precise..
Apr 25 2022, 08:13

Apr 20 2022

tyler-smith accepted D11370: Use the actual config in the RPC console.
Apr 20 2022, 17:51
tyler-smith accepted D11374: Fix ambiguous amount multiplication.
Apr 20 2022, 17:41
tyler-smith accepted D11359: [avalanche] Add an easy to use shortcut flag to turn on avalanche.
Apr 20 2022, 13:35
tyler-smith requested review of D11373: [avalanche] Send invs for known transactions..
Apr 20 2022, 13:19
tyler-smith requested review of D11372: [avalanche] Add mempool to Processor..
Apr 20 2022, 13:17
tyler-smith requested review of D11371: [avalanche] Create transaction vote records..
Apr 20 2022, 13:14

Apr 19 2022

tyler-smith abandoned D11369: [avalanche] Make quorum detection consider local proofs..

Superseded by D11367.

Apr 19 2022, 05:31
tyler-smith accepted D11367: [avalanche] Account for our own proof in the connected stake computation.

Looks correct other than a small comment typo.

Apr 19 2022, 05:30
tyler-smith added a comment to D11359: [avalanche] Add an easy to use shortcut flag to turn on avalanche.

Everything looks correctly implemented and the logic all makes sense, except I'm not clear on the reasoning about the quorum params.

Apr 19 2022, 05:27
tyler-smith accepted D11365: [avalanche] Always send an avahello message if we have a proof.
Apr 19 2022, 05:20

Apr 17 2022

tyler-smith planned changes to D11369: [avalanche] Make quorum detection consider local proofs..

This is incorrect based on a misunderstanding with the peermanager and local proof.

Apr 17 2022, 22:52
tyler-smith accepted D11361: [avalanche] Bump our avalanche outbound connections.

300 is a lot more reasonable than 16 for a larger network.

Apr 17 2022, 22:45
tyler-smith requested review of D11369: [avalanche] Make quorum detection consider local proofs..
Apr 17 2022, 22:41

Apr 13 2022

tyler-smith accepted D11346: [avalanche] Simplify the peermanager tests by deduplicating the addCoin lambdas.

The idea and implementation are great, but I have a minor bikeshed-nit about naming. I don't think that nit should hold up acceptance but is worth considering.

Apr 13 2022, 17:10
tyler-smith accepted D11340: Add an option to allow for bypassing the network group limit on outbound connections.

This flag will be useful and the implementation looks correct.

Apr 13 2022, 00:38

Apr 12 2022

tyler-smith closed D11314: [avalanche] Handle tx inv polls with a stub handler..
Apr 12 2022, 04:38
tyler-smith committed rABC4549974dd90c: [avalanche] Handle tx inv polls with a stub handler. (authored by tyler-smith).
[avalanche] Handle tx inv polls with a stub handler.
Apr 12 2022, 04:38
tyler-smith accepted D11322: [avalanche] Send getavaaddr messages to the manually added nodes.
Apr 12 2022, 04:26
tyler-smith accepted D11317: [avalanche] Don't fallback too quickly to regular outbound when looking for an avalanche one.
Apr 12 2022, 04:26

Apr 11 2022

tyler-smith requested changes to D11317: [avalanche] Don't fallback too quickly to regular outbound when looking for an avalanche one.

Starting on line 2370 there is a breakdown of the overall algorithm here. I think we should update it to include this new behavior because it's specific enough that this change would make it incorrect.

Apr 11 2022, 06:48
tyler-smith requested changes to D11322: [avalanche] Send getavaaddr messages to the manually added nodes.

The concept and implementation look good. A few nits with the test.

Apr 11 2022, 06:39
tyler-smith updated the test plan for D11314: [avalanche] Handle tx inv polls with a stub handler..
Apr 11 2022, 06:35

Apr 6 2022

tyler-smith updated the diff for D11314: [avalanche] Handle tx inv polls with a stub handler..

Update test name.

Apr 6 2022, 17:20
tyler-smith updated the test plan for D11314: [avalanche] Handle tx inv polls with a stub handler..
Apr 6 2022, 17:20
tyler-smith updated the diff for D11314: [avalanche] Handle tx inv polls with a stub handler..

Use MiniWallet for tests instead of the node's wallet.

Apr 6 2022, 16:30
tyler-smith updated the diff for D11314: [avalanche] Handle tx inv polls with a stub handler..

Use a clean chain in tests.

Apr 6 2022, 07:22
tyler-smith requested review of D11314: [avalanche] Handle tx inv polls with a stub handler..
Apr 6 2022, 06:48
tyler-smith accepted D11302: [avalanche] Erase the avalanche nodes that get disconnected.

Nice, this looks a good way to catch-all cleanup all disconnections.

Apr 6 2022, 06:32
tyler-smith accepted D11300: [avalanche] Properly remove pending node when possible.

The code makes sense and seems to be working. I can't tell why the build is failing it it appears to be unrelated to this change.

Apr 6 2022, 06:29

Mar 31 2022

tyler-smith accepted D11288: [avalanche] Always allow for downloading our local proof if it has been advertised.

This makes sense. Other nodes must always validate the proofs anyways.

Mar 31 2022, 14:34

Mar 30 2022

tyler-smith accepted D11278: [avalanche] Reduce abc_p2p_proof_inventory.py test duration.

Makes sense and I don't see any reason it should affect the test logically.

Mar 30 2022, 22:27
tyler-smith accepted D11283: [avalanche] Add a flag to indicate if the node started voting in getavalanchinfo.

Great idea so the quorum detection logic can stay encapsulated in the server.

Mar 30 2022, 22:24
tyler-smith accepted D11282: [avalanche] Fix missing doc entry in getavalancheinfo.
Mar 30 2022, 22:23
tyler-smith accepted D11276: [avalanche] Keep sending getavaaddr until the qorum is established.

In hindsight, this seems obvious. I think this fix and the tests are good.

Mar 30 2022, 22:21
tyler-smith accepted D11277: [avalanche] Return addresses of nodes we did not poll yet.

The concept and implementation look correct and well-tested.

Mar 30 2022, 22:19
tyler-smith accepted D11280: [avalanche] Broadcast our local proof once it's been verified.
Mar 30 2022, 22:16

Mar 22 2022

tyler-smith accepted D11244: Fix the build on some platforms by using an explicit cast for Univalue type.

Change looks correct.

Mar 22 2022, 20:38
tyler-smith closed D11101: [avalanche] Don't poll or vote definitively until we have quorum..
Mar 22 2022, 19:47
tyler-smith committed rABCafbc6938291d: [avalanche] Don't poll or vote definitively until we have quorum. (authored by tyler-smith).
[avalanche] Don't poll or vote definitively until we have quorum.
Mar 22 2022, 19:47
tyler-smith updated the diff for D11101: [avalanche] Don't poll or vote definitively until we have quorum..

Remove all changes to peermanager tests.

Mar 22 2022, 19:26
tyler-smith updated the diff for D11101: [avalanche] Don't poll or vote definitively until we have quorum..

Remove unrelated change.

Mar 22 2022, 19:19
tyler-smith updated the diff for D11101: [avalanche] Don't poll or vote definitively until we have quorum..

Use BOOST_CHECK instead of BOOST_CHECK_EQUAL to avoid passing the processor.

Mar 22 2022, 15:47
tyler-smith planned changes to D11101: [avalanche] Don't poll or vote definitively until we have quorum..

Debugging failure

Mar 22 2022, 06:19
tyler-smith updated the diff for D11101: [avalanche] Don't poll or vote definitively until we have quorum..

Address feedback. Add range checks to params, add failure cases, simplify tests, and remove unrelated cleanup changes.

Mar 22 2022, 05:25
tyler-smith updated the summary of D11101: [avalanche] Don't poll or vote definitively until we have quorum..
Mar 22 2022, 04:20

Mar 21 2022

tyler-smith updated the diff for D11101: [avalanche] Don't poll or vote definitively until we have quorum..

Fix remaining feedback, fix locale issues, and use proof orphaning to remove peers instead of needing their ids.

Mar 21 2022, 05:34
tyler-smith closed D11181: [avalanche] Track registered and allocated scores in PeerManager..
Mar 21 2022, 04:44
tyler-smith committed rABCdf31b9e30915: [avalanche] Track registered and allocated scores in PeerManager. (authored by tyler-smith).
[avalanche] Track registered and allocated scores in PeerManager.
Mar 21 2022, 04:44

Mar 18 2022

tyler-smith planned changes to D11101: [avalanche] Don't poll or vote definitively until we have quorum..
Mar 18 2022, 08:10
tyler-smith updated the summary of D11101: [avalanche] Don't poll or vote definitively until we have quorum..
Mar 18 2022, 06:02
tyler-smith retitled D11101: [avalanche] Don't poll or vote definitively until we have quorum. from [avalanche] WIP: Don't poll or vote definitively until we have quorum. to [avalanche] Don't poll or vote definitively until we have quorum..
Mar 18 2022, 06:01
tyler-smith updated the diff for D11101: [avalanche] Don't poll or vote definitively until we have quorum..

Fix all review items except marking isQuorumEstablished as const, pending discussion.

Mar 18 2022, 06:00
tyler-smith added inline comments to D11101: [avalanche] Don't poll or vote definitively until we have quorum..
Mar 18 2022, 05:58

Mar 17 2022

tyler-smith updated the diff for D11181: [avalanche] Track registered and allocated scores in PeerManager..

Update variable and method names.

Mar 17 2022, 22:32
tyler-smith added inline comments to D11181: [avalanche] Track registered and allocated scores in PeerManager..
Mar 17 2022, 22:27

Mar 16 2022

tyler-smith updated the diff for D11101: [avalanche] Don't poll or vote definitively until we have quorum..

Fix tests and rebase onto latest D11118.

Mar 16 2022, 22:50
tyler-smith updated the diff for D11181: [avalanche] Track registered and allocated scores in PeerManager..

Fix unit test name.

Mar 16 2022, 22:36
tyler-smith updated the diff for D11181: [avalanche] Track registered and allocated scores in PeerManager..

Rename properties and improve tests.

Mar 16 2022, 22:35
tyler-smith updated the summary of D11101: [avalanche] Don't poll or vote definitively until we have quorum..
Mar 16 2022, 09:29
tyler-smith updated the diff for D11101: [avalanche] Don't poll or vote definitively until we have quorum..

Redesign to use pre-computed score amounts from D11181.

Mar 16 2022, 09:28
tyler-smith closed D11179: [avalanche] Add helper function Proof::amountToScore()..
Mar 16 2022, 09:22
tyler-smith committed rABC12185af8e7b6: [avalanche] Add helper function Proof::amountToScore(). (authored by tyler-smith).
[avalanche] Add helper function Proof::amountToScore().
Mar 16 2022, 09:22
tyler-smith requested review of D11181: [avalanche] Track registered and allocated scores in PeerManager..
Mar 16 2022, 09:16
tyler-smith requested review of D11179: [avalanche] Add helper function Proof::amountToScore()..
Mar 16 2022, 00:39
tyler-smith abandoned D11154: [avalanche] Add -avaquerytimeout parameter..

This functionality was included in a different changeset that landed.

Mar 16 2022, 00:16

Mar 13 2022

tyler-smith updated the diff for D11101: [avalanche] Don't poll or vote definitively until we have quorum..

Spacing and test cleanup.

Mar 13 2022, 04:27
tyler-smith updated the diff for D11101: [avalanche] Don't poll or vote definitively until we have quorum..

Fix missing newline at end of file.

Mar 13 2022, 04:21
tyler-smith updated the diff for D11101: [avalanche] Don't poll or vote definitively until we have quorum..

Make comment style consistent and add space.

Mar 13 2022, 04:20
tyler-smith updated the summary of D11101: [avalanche] Don't poll or vote definitively until we have quorum..
Mar 13 2022, 04:17
tyler-smith updated the diff for D11101: [avalanche] Don't poll or vote definitively until we have quorum..

Update abc_p2p_getavaddr to allow a 0-stake quorum so node changes are processed.

Mar 13 2022, 03:53
tyler-smith updated the diff for D11101: [avalanche] Don't poll or vote definitively until we have quorum..

Fix getavalancheinfo test by setting quorum min stake to 0. Otherwise, the eventloop never gets to the point of trying the disconnected nodes and never removes them from them so it keeps reporting 10.

Mar 13 2022, 03:14

Mar 12 2022

tyler-smith planned changes to D11101: [avalanche] Don't poll or vote definitively until we have quorum..
Mar 12 2022, 20:53
tyler-smith updated the diff for D11101: [avalanche] Don't poll or vote definitively until we have quorum..

Update handling of min stake arg to avoid parsing issues with ToString()'d version.

Mar 12 2022, 19:37
tyler-smith planned changes to D11101: [avalanche] Don't poll or vote definitively until we have quorum..

Debugging remaining test failures.

Mar 12 2022, 19:10
tyler-smith updated the diff for D11101: [avalanche] Don't poll or vote definitively until we have quorum..

Rebase onto master after dependency landed.

Mar 12 2022, 18:51
tyler-smith planned changes to D11101: [avalanche] Don't poll or vote definitively until we have quorum..
Mar 12 2022, 04:13
tyler-smith updated the diff for D11101: [avalanche] Don't poll or vote definitively until we have quorum..

Include chrono in avalanche.h

Mar 12 2022, 03:58
tyler-smith updated the diff for D11101: [avalanche] Don't poll or vote definitively until we have quorum..

Fix locale function linting issue by not trying to format double as a string.

Mar 12 2022, 03:14
tyler-smith planned changes to D11101: [avalanche] Don't poll or vote definitively until we have quorum..

Need to address new lint issue.

Mar 12 2022, 03:00
tyler-smith updated the diff for D11101: [avalanche] Don't poll or vote definitively until we have quorum..

Rebase onto D11133 and address all oustanding feedback items.

Mar 12 2022, 02:58

Mar 11 2022

tyler-smith accepted D11133: [avalanche] Add a getavalancheinfo RPC for general status info.

Concept and implementation both look good.

Mar 11 2022, 23:52
tyler-smith planned changes to D11101: [avalanche] Don't poll or vote definitively until we have quorum..
Mar 11 2022, 20:12
tyler-smith updated the summary of D11101: [avalanche] Don't poll or vote definitively until we have quorum..
Mar 11 2022, 08:43
tyler-smith updated the diff for D11101: [avalanche] Don't poll or vote definitively until we have quorum..

Make tests correctly disconnect peer nodes without hacks.

Mar 11 2022, 08:42
tyler-smith requested review of D11154: [avalanche] Add -avaquerytimeout parameter..
Mar 11 2022, 08:40

Mar 5 2022

tyler-smith updated the diff for D11101: [avalanche] Don't poll or vote definitively until we have quorum..

Fix proof voting test.

Mar 5 2022, 08:59
tyler-smith updated the diff for D11101: [avalanche] Don't poll or vote definitively until we have quorum..

Fix node vs peer stake comparison.
Implement ratio of connected nodes checking.
Update default parameters.

Mar 5 2022, 08:41

Feb 28 2022

tyler-smith updated the diff for D11101: [avalanche] Don't poll or vote definitively until we have quorum..

Update arg names, fix unit tests, remove by_score handling, and start on peer stake ratio checking.

Feb 28 2022, 07:39